Favorite Couples in Books // top ten OTPs

top OTPs in Books

Since Valentine’s Day is right around the corner I thought, “Why not share about my favorite couples in literature?” I have many, oh, so many.

(throughout this post I’ll be throwing out terms like OTP and “shipping.” OTP stands for “One True Pairing.” As for shipping? Well, it means you really want a couple to be in a relationship, because reasons.)
(also, linking up with the Broke and the Bookish for this.)

Are you ready?

tumblr_m5h32oa5if1qg9f9k

  1. Eanrin and Imraldera (Tales of Goldstone Wood).

Okay, ‘fess up. How many of you had a feeling these two would be first on my list? They are easily my favorite couple in recent literature. Eanrin is a faerie-bard (he likes to stay in cat-form 90% of the time) who speaks much sass and gives me multiple feels continually, and Imraldera is a spirited, sweet human/immortal/I-don’t-even-know-what.

“Her eyes pleaded with him to understand, to try. Under that gaze, Eanrin had no option but to sit and stare at the scribbles in the dust, stare with all the intensity a cat can muster. His pupils dilated until the golden irises were like rings of eclipsed sunfire. Imraldera watched him, chewing her bottom lip and waiting.
At last the cat lashed his tail and raised his whiskered face to her. “I’m sorry, my girl. It looks to me like the Greater Stick Bug pursues the Lesser Stick Bug over the back of a giant alligator. Can’t make a thing of it otherwise.”
― Anne Elisabeth Stengl, Starflower

Also, they are the most infuriating ship I have ever taken over.

tumblr_lvpr7on1go1qfx8uv

2. Foxbrush and Daylily (Tales of Goldstone Wood).

They are polar opposites and perfect suited and I’ve shipped them ever since Foxbrush’s interest in Daylily was mentioned in Veiled Rose. Their journey together made my heart ache (in the best way possible) more than once — beautifully done, Stengl.

3. Mir and Eva (Monster).

ACK. Mir and Eva are absolutely adorable. They have such a huge impact on each other’s lives, and I’m quite sure I will never tire of reading their story. All the inspiration and emotion and beauty and strength. Just wonderful.

4. Thorne and Cress (The Lunar Chronicles).

Speaking of adorable. This couple is the cutest EVER. I can’t handle the cute sometimes. And I love how their relationship evolves. It’s beautiful because it’s real, not all emotions and swooning over each other’s attractiveness — though, that does happen.

And did I mention the cute?

giphy1

5. Sydney Carton and Lucy (The Tale of Two Cities).

I will continue to ship these two beyond all reason.

6. Dan and Bess (Jo’s Boys).

The way their story ended still irritates me. Especially since it didn’t have to be that way. Excuse me while I curl up and cry over the injustice of it all.

The second window framed a very picturesque group of three. Mr March in an armchair, with Bess on a cushion at his feed, was listening to Dan, who, leaning against a pillow, was talking with unusual animation. The old man was in shadow, but little Desdemona was looking up with the moonlight full upon her face, quite absorbed in the story he was telling so well. The gay drapery over Dan’s shoulder, his dark colouring and the gesture of his arm made the picture very striking and both very striking, and both spectators enjoyed it with silent pleasure.

7. Margaret and John Thornton (North and South).

This love story is one of my all-time favorites. Everything about it is so beautiful, in the best and most realistic way. It makes me happy when love grows out of mutual respect for each other’s intelligence and opinions. It’s splendid when couples have in-depth discussions about politics and religion and what-have-you, and not just heartrending, swoony scenes.

Although, those are nice too.

tumblr_nzef0nc4pd1s3pwhio1_500

8. Valancy and Barney (The Blue Castle). 

Another couple whose love grows out of friendship, except they were married first so that makes things slightly different. I will probably never recover from that unexpected twist on a proposal scene. Also, Barney is one of my favorite male charries ever.

“Didn’t I promise you I’d never tell you a lie? Love you! I love you with all there is of me to love.”

9. Arrietty and Spiller (The Borrowers series).

I will ship these two until the end of time. Can you imagine all the cute and awkward and general perfection of this?

tumblr_inline_mifqxrjyvt1qz4rgp

10. Callie and Mr. Barnett (Fly Away Home).

The chemistry and friendship between this couple gives me warm fuzzies.

Who are your favorite couples in literature? What is your top OTP?

14 thoughts on “Favorite Couples in Books // top ten OTPs

  1. Ugh, I just need all the Goldstone Wood books already. Thorne +Cress forever. I’m in the middle of watching North and South right now and I totally can’t. handle. the feels. *dies*
    And I foRGOT ABOUT ARRIETY AND SPILLER. How could I??? ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  2. *Warning heavy use of capital letters is about to ensue. ;)*

    MARGARET AND MR. THORNTON – YES. (Since N&S is one of my top ten favorite books and the ’04 is my second favorite movie of all time, more goes without saying. ;D)

    VALANCY AND BARNEY – YEEEEEEES. And hee. I’m still getting over that proposal scene myself even though I-don’t-know-how-many-crazy-times I’ve read it. 🙂

    And ARRIETTY AND SPILLLER!!!!!!!! I may very well almost have squealed aloud when I read that. So few people mention those books and me LOVES THOSE TWO. They get together. They HAVE to get together. (I always maintain — and SHALL always maintain — that Peagreen can very well go and find some other nice, domestic young borrower lady, but Spiller and Arrietty will end up going on great and glorious adventures together all their lives. The End. :))

    Like

  3. ERMIGERSSHHH!! SO MANY BEAUTIFUL OTPs!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    -Sydney Carton + Lucy… I just finished A Tale of Two Cities. I almost died of feels! Talk about the ultimate friend-zone!! I had to flail with my dad for a few hours after finishing it. XD

    -Margaret + John Thornton… Ugh! The miniseries with Richard Armitage wrecked my soul!! It was so beautiful! I wanna read the book SO BADLY now.

    -Arrietty + Spiller… *squeeeee* Adorbs.

    Some of my other favorite bookish OTPs include Ron + Hermione, Percy + Annabeth, Emma + Knightly, Elizabeth + Darcy, and Jane Eyre + Mr. Rochester… GAHHH!! Thanks for the feels & grins, dear! ❤

    Like

  4. DAN AND BESS.

    *cries forever*

    I hate Louisa May Alcott for utterly DESTROYING that ship. I don’t think I’ll ever read Jo’s Boys again since the little bits of Dan and Bess’ interactions in Little Men make me tear up (’cause I know what’s going to happen later). *snifffff*

    On a happier note, I adore Barney and Valancey. So sweet!

    Loved this post. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

