Of owls and the color red // Snazzy Snippets

 

Once again I am joining in late with Snazzy Snippets. Better late than never, I say. 

I’ll be sharing snippets from both I am Juliette and Blood Thread today. The former is my current WIP (edits, woe is me) and the latter is one of my favorite stories that I have ever put down on paper. *hugs characters to Self*

Anyone up for a dash of steampunk and stardust?

 

1. A snippet from page 16 | I am Juliette

“The scanner requires a blood sample,” said POND. He whisked over to a low pedestal next to the hand scanner. There was a round hollow on the top of it and the Owl lowered himself in halfway. He fit perfectly. I licked the tiny bead of blood off my palm, wondering what other devices on the ship were designed specifically for the PONDs.

The Owl’s eyes brightened to an intense green.

“The DNA scan is successfully completed. You are fully human,” he squeaked.

2. A snippet of 16 words or fewer | Blood Thread

 His dreams continued to run red.

Then black. 

3. A snippet about something new | Blood Thread

The tiny canary fluttered her wings and hopped up and down.

“She’s here,” she gasped.

“Who’s where?” said Tarquin, flicking a glossy, black ear forward. He wished Prism would curb her tendency to bounce about like a rubber ball when she was distressed.

The bird pounced at him.

“Pay attention, Tarquin. A raven has been spotted.”

A raven.

The cat was suddenly grateful for the warm chimney behind his back.

“Where was it seen?” he asked, flattening his ears. Prism pointed a wing in the direction of Turkania’s merchant harbors.

“It was flying around the ships for hours before it vanished into the smog.”

“Not being subtle, is she?”

~~~~~~~~~~

In other news, I’m going to a book sale today (EEEP) and I may buy a scandalous amount of Once-Were-Trees. My edits of I am Juliette draft four begin properly in February and I am torn between dreading it and getting all excited and flail-y. I miss my characters from Blood Thread in the worst way. Reading has been at an unusual low for me because I’ve been so busy this past month — I do not like this state of affairs. It makes me panicky. Thank goodness for beta-reading projects and Wodehouse short stories! Also, I recently watched the newest Mission Impossible and currently it’s my favorite of all the action films. *loves it with all the love* 

What have you all been up to? And didst thou enjoy the snippetses? Any new favorite books this month?

10 thoughts on “Of owls and the color red // Snazzy Snippets

  1. And OOOOH SO INTRIGUING. I’m already dying to find out what happens in Juliette. Blood Thread’s 16 word snippet just SLAYED me. All the best with your writing goals — revising is tough but ultimately we can enjoy it 😀

    Thank you for linking up with us! Although *whispers* I think you may have forgotten to actually add your link to the linky?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAY. I’M dying for you to find out what happens in I am Juliette. I hope you love it. That snippet slays me too. O.O Actually, the whole story slays me. Da feelsss. Thank you, Alyssa! I’m alternately loving it and panicking right now. XD

      OH GRACIOUS. *hides in mortification* Thanks for that reminder, girly. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

