Top Five Favorite Holiday Films // Twelve Days of Christmas Countdown

This is one of those moments where I’m not sure if I’m entirely sane — let’s go with not.

Despite being up to my ears in other Christmas-related stuff (this month is turning out to be one of the busiest in the history of ever, no exaggeration) I’ve decided that I’m going to do something special here on Curious Wren for the Twelve Days of Christmas.

Now, technically they start on December 25th and end on January 5th, but where’s the fun in that? Instead, I’m planning to post something short and festive every day leading up to Christmas Day.

It’ll be a jolly way to build the anticipation for myself (hopefully, you too) and even though I’m 99% sure I’m biting off more than I can chew — I’m going to give it a whirl anyways. Because why not?

LET’S DO THIS, FELLOW HOLIDAYING HUMANS.

Today I’m sharing with you five of my favorite Christmas movies.

Grab a mug of hot chocolate and a cozy blanket and let’s talk film!

1. It’s a Wonderful Life.

This is probably one of the best-known Christmas movies ever, and with good reason. It used to scare me a bit when I was little, but as I grew up I began to realize the beauty of the story and I fell head-over-heels for it. Humor, poignant moments, festive cheer, thought-provoking themes, good acting…. it has it all.

2. A Christmas Carol.

Nobody in my family considers our holiday season complete unless we’ve watched this version of A Christmas Carol. It’s our traditional viewing on whatever evening we attack a pine tree and make it all pretty and shiny. The first time I saw it I was in awe of the amazing animation — still am — and I love how true it is to the book, not to mention it has some deliciously chilling scenes and some comical ones too. Plus, the entire soundtrack is Christmas music so that’s lovely. ^_^

3. The Nativity Story.

I still remember my surprise the first time viewing The Nativity Story — it tells the story of Christ’s birth so well and with such wonder and love. I especially like that it opens up insights into Mary and Joseph’s life that I’d never thought about before. I’d never paused to think what it was like for Mary being an unwed, pregnant young woman and how people would have treated her, even though she was entirely innocent. And it’s fascinating watching Mary and Joseph’s relationship develop. When we re-watched the movie last night I couldn’t resist turning to my older sister during one of the couple’s particularly sweet scenes and whispering, “I ship it.” XD

Oh, and anyone else absolutely love the three Wise Men? “If I am right, and I usually am… ”


4. Rise of the Guardians.

I admit I was dubious about this one, but since it was a gift from my sister-in-law we tried it out and I was pleasantly surprised. Not only is it funny, it’s thoroughly heart-warming and Jack Frost is one of my favorite movie characters ever. Commonly we don’t watch films that feature Santa, but I loved the twist in RoTG that each guardian was human before they became immortal. It’s a festive Avenger-esque story for children and, goodness, the character dynamics are so much fun! Also, I will never not cry in Jack’s first scene talking face-to-face with a child who can see him. and, yes, I ship Jack and Elsa. not even sorry. 


5. Arthur Christmas.

Oh, this movie. *happy sigh* It stars James McAvoy who does a brilliant job as Arthur. The Christmas family has been “Santa Claus” for generations with each firstborn son taking on the role when their father relinquishes it. My sister-in-law introduced it to us last Christmas and within the first two minutes of the movie my sisters and I were all, “WHERE HAS THIS BEEN OUR ENTIRE LIVES?” I’m sure the film has flaws and plot-holes, but it is just so good. The storyline, the dialogue, the emotions, the humor, the accents… I love it all. Seriously, if you haven’t seen it, check it out, alrighty?

Honorable mentions: Doctor Who: A Christmas Carol. Doctor Who: The Doctor, The Widow, and the Wardrobe. Borrowed Hearts.

What are your favorite festive films, lovelies? And am I unhinged to attempt a Curious Wren Christmas Countdown? 

4 thoughts on “Top Five Favorite Holiday Films // Twelve Days of Christmas Countdown

  1. I love Christmas movies! Here’s my top five (okay, four and one short Christmas special):

    A Christmas Carol (1951)
    Miracle on 34th Street (1947)
    It’s a Wonderful Life (1946)
    A Dog Named Christmas (2009)
    A Charlie Brown Christmas (1965)

    Like

  2. I must admit I’ve only seen Rise of the Guardians on your list – but oh, it’s one of my absolute favourite films, Christmas or no. The animation is utterly gorgeous, and Jack’s first scene speaking with a child makes my cry every time. Lovely list, Annie. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

