“Read that? You must be mad!” // in which I speak of banned books 

  
Last week in the bookish community was something called Banned Books Week

Books are banned for both good reasons (Mein Kampf) and bad reasons (To Kill A Mockingbird), but I’m not writing this to discuss the act of banning, rather I thought it would be fun to share a list of some of the banned books I’ve read. Plus, banned books I would like to read. 

Shall we?

Banned books I have read:

  1. The Bible (King James Version).
  2. To Kill A Mockingbird.
  3. The Lord of the Rings.
  4. The Scarlet Letter.
  5. The Hunger Games.
  6. The Giver.
  7. Green Eggs and Ham

Is anyone else confused over the fact that Green Eggs and Ham was actually banned at one point? *brain inserts sarcastic comments*

Banned books on my TBR:

  1. Alice in Wonderland.
  2. All Quiet on the Western Front.
  3. Animal Farm.
  4. Brave New World.
  5. Frankenstein.
  6. Uncle Tom’s Cabin.
  7. A Wrinkle in Time.
  8. Lord of the Flies. 

And, of course, the most ironically banned book of them all: Fahrenheit 451.

What about you? What banned books have you read? And what ones are you curious to read? 

      9 thoughts on ““Read that? You must be mad!” // in which I speak of banned books 

      1. Well, then. I’ve read quite a few banned books. In most cases, banning books is not something that I agree with. When I wrote a blog post about how I think books should have content ratings, a lot of people expressed concern that it would be just like banning books, but I think they are two very different things. Content ratings would actually be good for some of these books, such as To Kill a Mockingbird. It’s my favorite book and I don’t agree with banning it (that’s preposterous! :D), but I don’t think some of the subject matter is for fourth graders or something. Anyways, all that to say yay for reading amazing banned books! Heehee. It’s funny that Fahrenheit 451 was banned. I love Ray Bradbury’s writing way too much. WAY too much. You must read his books, even if they are creepy.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I second Ana’s comment there – I disagree with banning (there should be the universal freedom for anyone to pick up whatever book they want) However, I do agree there should be, like with film-ratings, book-ratings and guidance with certain books particularly when it comes to younger audiences, and books that have mature content and deal with violent or explicit issues.

        Ooh, but I didn’t know “The Lord of the Rings” was ever banned, nor Lewis Caroll’s “Alice in Wonderland”. . . do you know why they were so?

        Ah, I started “All Quiet on the Western Front” but I sort of shelved it for a while earlier this year because I wasn’t quite in the mood for the book’s grim misery – it did captivate me though.

        I’d love to read several of these books in the future as well! Notably among them are Animal Farm, A Wrinkle in Time, The Hunger Games, and Uncle Tom’s Cabin, though I would like to read the others sometime too.

        Well, I’ve read “To Kill a Mockingbird”, “The Lord of the Rings”. . . but I don’t know of many others. Hmm, did you know back in Egypt, when my mum was young, in the Coptic Orthodox Church she attended, they prohibited/warned/banned almost all Protestant books? That was pretty sad!

        Like

      3. I… did not realise the Bible had ever been banned (which is rather ironic, I think, since quite a few books have been banned due to religious implications). I am slightly rusty on my European history, but I assume the King James version was banned when the Catholic church became the main force of government in England?

        On your TBR, I think I’d most recommend Alice in Wonderland (my all-time favourite + the inspiration for my blog), Animal Farm (“all animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others” sums up most of the history of democracy as a form of government), and A Wrinkle in Time (taught me so much about love and fear and all of the greyness in between). Lord of the Flies is the only one on your list that I didn’t particularly enjoy, but I know I am a minority in that – and I have no doubt that you will adore all of the others.

        Here’s to the uncaged magic of books – and thank you so much for sharing your picks, Annie. xx

        Like

        1. Topaz, the Bible has been a banned book frequently throughout history, in many different nations – even now, in countries like North Korea and China and the Middle-East Bibles are illegal or very hard to find.

          But speaking of that time in England, no the King James version came later and was not banned. What was banned was the English translation of the Bible done both by John Wycliffe and William Tyndale in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, as it was illegal to read the Scriptures in the common language of the people (not Latin or Greek).

          Liked by 1 person

      4. I think I’ve read most of these! Brave New World and Fahrenheit 451 are some of my favorite books everrrrr. Also, Lord of the Flies. (Apparently I like the brutal ones? o.o)

        Like

      5. So basically I realise I have not been commenting nearly enough on your blog even though I’ve been reading your posts. Just to let you know I absolutely absolutely love your posts even if I don’t have the time to comment on each one!

        That Fahrenheit quote makes me shiver — that entire book made me shiver, but this line especially in this context. And wow, I hadn’t considered the Bible as a banned book, but it’s true many religious texts are banned–officially or otherwise–in one place or another. I’ve read most of the banned books you have, except Green Eggs and Ham — that is the ODDEST book to ban. Alice in Wonderland is SUCH FUN, you have to read it. Animal Farm is pure genius, as per Orwell’s usual. I haven’t read the others — actually, I might have read Brave New World, but forgot about it. I do so love the irony of using the term in daily life, though.

        Like

      Leave a Reply

      