I am Juliette sneak peek // the 7/7/7 challenge 

  
The sweet Victoria and the inspiring Nicole both tagged me for what is called the 7/7/7 challenge. 

In a nutshell, I trot over to the seventh page of my manuscript, count seven lines down, and share the seven lines below that. LET US DO THIS.

Quick synopsis: I am Juliette is a light science fiction re-telling of Beauty and the Beast. A girl wakes up from hibernation on a starship with no idea how she got there or why. The ship appears to be deserted other than a few quirky robotic birds, but then she discovers a mad prisoner trapped in a containment cell. 

And many feels go down. *fangirls/cries inside*

The seven lines:

“A hospital?”

“Negative,” POND I chirped.

I tapped my lip, and looked the hall over once more. My gaze fell on the wall-sized image of a night sky, bright with stars. A planet shone in the remote background.

Holographic wallpaper, maybe. And is that supposed to be Earth?

//

And I shall tag…… Joy @ Fullness of Joy | Schuyler @ My Lady Bibliophile | Emily @ The Herosinger | Carmel @ CARMEL | Mirriam @ Wishful Thinking | Hanne-col @ Ain’t We Got Fun | Elisabeth @ The Second Sentence | and anyone else who wishes to participate! Don’t be shy, ladies and gentlemen. 

12 thoughts on “I am Juliette sneak peek // the 7/7/7 challenge 

  1. I love the title and concept of this story, and getting a chance to read your snippet was great! It seems like there might be bits of Romeo and Juliet thrown in as well, which sounds SUPER fun. I’d love to hear more about this project!

    Like

  2. I am Juliette sounds very intriguing so far! I admit I’m doubly interested in Beauty and the Beast retellings after I was so excited for ACOTAR and it fell short of my expectations. But also: SCI FI RETELLINGS YESSSS. Most retellings are fantasy, I feel like, including my own, and the robotic birds are SO CUTE. EEK.

    Like

  3. I like that snippet. Highly intriguing. Oh, and thank you very much for tagging me. I’m trying to decide whether to wait until I get to page seven of my WWI WIP or use the western short story I’ve been slowly but surely working on for the past year.

    Like

  4. Hi, this is the first time I’ve been on your blog (which I think to be a very good one)
    The snippet definitely got me interested in your book. Especially if that’s Jenna Coleman I see. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, Mia! I’m delighted to meet you (and thank you for the sweet comment. You made my day).

      Oh, goody. That’s wonderful. And yes! Jenna Coleman’s mannerisms, accent, and face all fit Juliette perfectly.

      Are you a Whovian, perchance?

      Like

Leave a Reply

