Ten Books I Am Eager To Read In The Near Future

  
(image via Pinterest. words are my own.) 

This week for Top Ten Tuesday we all basically get to do our own thing. Did anyone else besides me panic momentarily? 

Hence: 

Ten Books I am dying to read soonish (probably during the months of ice-and-frozen-fingers-and-hibernating-in-a-nest-of-blankets-and-drinking-all-the-hot-chocolate).

  

  
1. The Phantom of the Opera.

This book has been described as epic and glorious and beautiful and heartbreaking and I can’t wait to get my icy fingers on it! I actually have a read-along planned with two friends for this October so I’m stoked about that. *flails*

  
2. Macbeth.

Let’s take a minute to swoon over that cover, shall we?

Now then. Much of the classic lit I’ve read has little nods to this particular Shakespeare play, and I want to know what it is all about. Every tiny snippet I’ve caught of it on-line is gorgeous. 

Plus, it’s a tragedy which means all the feels. 

Let’s do this. 

  
3. Red Rising.

Aimee read this and it sounds just my cup of tea (despite the fact, I’ll have to read it with white-out in hand). I love books that tear my emotions apart, and are rich with story, and moral conflict that makes me think. 
  

4. The Wrath and the Dawn.

Alright, I haven’t the faintest idea if this is clean or rubbish (any of you know?) but, it’s a re-telling of one of the most fascinating Arabian Nights stories, and I want to read it in the worst way.

  
5. Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times.

Steampunk! Metal fairies! Clockwork dragons! Time-travel! Villainesses! More steampunk! 

I NEED IT.

  
6. Shirley.

In a nutshell, after the heart-wrenching, rich beauty that was Jane Eyre I desperately want more of Charlotte Brontë’s writing.

  
7. Seraphina.

Mathematical dragons in an alternate-medieval world? 

YES PLEASE.

  
8. Pendragon’s Heir.

Because I’ve never read an Arthurian legend book and a friend of mine wrote it and it sounds all around epic.

  
9. The Book Thief.

This sounds like one of those unforgettable reads that is about as close to perfection as one can get. We need to become acquainted, this book and I. 

  

10. Show Your Work!

I blame Schuyler for my eagerness to devour this. That and Steal like an Artist being such an inspiring read. 

Have YOU read any of these books? Thoughts? Which ones intrigue you the most? What books are YOU dying to get your hands on? 

21 thoughts on “Ten Books I Am Eager To Read In The Near Future

  1. Phantom of the Opera is such an interesting book (I’m used to the musical, so it’s slightly different). But it was good.

    And THE BOOK THIEF. </3 I read it two years ago & I'm still not ready to talk about (It's good. It's so good. But it's sad. So sad).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, yes. 😀 You’ll adore The Book Thief. I read it last summer and it continues to be a favorite.

    SO EXCITED TO READ PHANTOM WITH YOU. 😀

    If you want to read more Shakespeare after Macbeth, read A Midsummer Night’s Dream. It’s absolutely hilarious. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooo, I didn’t know you’d read it! 🙂 This makes me so much more excited about it. I think it would be the perfect winter read, yes? ^_^

      LIKEWISE MY OWLET. 😀

      I shall! I remember you recommending that to me a few months ago. At the moment, all I have from the library are a few tragedies, but after Macbeth I think I will need some gaiety so A Midsummer Night’s Dream is in order, methinks! =D

      Like

  3. Pendragon’s Heir is awesome. I read Shirley once, but it was so long ago that I don’t remember much about it—it’s one I’d like to revisit. And The Phantom of the Opera is good too.

    I’ve heard so many people enthuse about The Book Thief that I’ve been hovering on the edge of wanting to read it for a long time, but hesitating because I get the idea it’s rather tragic/intense. I’m like that; I take a while to get up to nerve for certain books sometimes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard so much good about Pendragon’s Heir that I’m determined as soon as I have a bit of extra spending money to order a copy! It feels like one of those books that deserves to be read in proper book form instead of on a screen. 🙂 My older sister read Shirley and she enjoyed it very much.

      My thoughts exactly, Elisabeth. I know it’ll break my heart (in the best way possible) and so I hover on the sidelines trying to get up the nerve. I have also heard that it has some vulgar/harsh language so I’m hesitating about that as well. I might just recruit my Dad to go through and white-it out so I don’t have to. 😉 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That Arabian Nights book looks interesting! I do hate though, digging into what sounds like an awesome book only to get slapped in the face with a sex scene. Let me know what you think of it 🙂

    (I have read bits of the original Arabian Nights and that’s a bit confronting too).

    Hope you love Pendragon’s Heir :). I think it’s alright. I’ve read Phantom of the Opera several times and enjoyed parts of it very much but wasn’t mad about it overall – felt it lacked a really sympathetic hero. I’ve also read Macbeth several times, which is Shakespeare and therefore awesome, but generally I’m more of a fan of his comedies. And Othello, which is a huuuuuuuuuge guilty pleasure :D. So melodramatic!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh yes Red Rising and the Book Thief! they are both good, the book thief is the best though… it is amazing…. You will need whiteout with Red Rising though…… augh I listened to it in an audio form… and that stopped me liking the book for a long time… I now just badly want to read the next two, but the library does not have them!

    Like

  6. I’ve been curious about The Phantom of the Opera too, but right now, I’m a little more interested in seeing the film (the 1925 version) than I am in reading the book. If I see the movie and I like the story, I might read the book then.

    Ooh, Macbeth! I’ve only seen adaptations, but what I know of the play I love! I think you’ll like this story.

    Which reminds me, are you still working on Hamlet? I’d love to hear your thoughts on that when you finish. 🙂

    I had never heard of Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times before, but I have been wanting to try some steampunk. This might be the book!

    If you like rich, emotional stories with lots of moral conflict, you’ll love The Book Thief. It is very sad, true, but it is also one of the best and more rewarding books I’ve ever read. I defy you not to fall in love with those characters. Max is my favorite, but Hans, Liesel, and Rudy are pretty great too.

    Like

  7. So, I own both STEAL LIKE AN ARTIST and SHOW YOUR WORK, but I have not gotten around to reading either of them – a rather sad thing, I think, since I devour Austin Kleon’s blog (+ his gorgeous newspaper blackout poetry). Perhaps this will be the push for me to sit down and read them both – the vision of frosted fingers and blanket-wrapped mornings sounds like a rather lovely one, and what better way to pass them than with beautiful books? ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Steal Like An Artist and Show Your Work are both amazing and totally worth reading! I’ve been dying to get my hands on Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times, and I keep meaning to read The Book Thief but haven’t yet. The Wrath and the Dawn, too. It looks like you have a pretty awesome TBR here–I hope you enjoy all of them!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. If I start a post like this, it will drag forever and ever. . . but I might try :). It was definitely fun to read yours, Annie girl!

    I’m conflicted in my opinions with “The Book Thief”, it is both a very strangely written and rather disturbing book because of it’s narrator and its secular worldview, and yet beautifully written, and tenderly haunting. I think you’ll find it worth your while to read it, dear – but be sure to mind the bit of swearing in it.

    I’m reading “Pendragon’s Heir” at the moment! It’s GOOD! 🙂 I am looking forward to finishing it and see how it ends :).

    I also would love to read “Seraphina” sometime – it looks like it has dragons and nice stuff. . . I just hope, like with “Wrath and the Dawn” – which has the most gorgeous book cover, that it doesn’t have morally ambiguous stuff like explicit scenes or lots of swearing :P.

    As for Shirley, yay for more Bronte! This spring I am kind of hoping to read all the Bronte novels I can!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved your post, girly! And pfft, who doesn’t like long bookly blog posts? ❤

      I feel like I'll be conflicted about The Book Thief too — though, this make surprise you, the fact that it's narrated by Death is fascinating to me. I actually read the first few pages at a bookstore and LOVED IT.

      Ooo, yes! I saw that on IG. I'm so excited for you! I can't wait to hear your thoughts on it.

      Yes to both your thoughts on Seraphina and the Wrath and the Dawn — they sound so good, but I'm worried about possible swearing/sensuality or explicit scenes. I THINK I've heard that Seraphina is clean, but I don't know about TWATD.

      You should, Joy! I'm looking forward to getting my teeth into Shirley this winter, and I'm curious about The Professor. Which Brontë novel are you going to read next? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

