Ten Series I Will (maybe) Finish Before The World Ends

  
(image via pinterest. words are my own)

I’m joining in the Top Ten Tuesday meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish today! This week’s prompt is Ten Finished Series I have YET to Finish.

(And let me tell you it was not an easy task coming up with TEN book series I still have to finish. When I read a series, I read the series. So I bent the rules a bit by including Not Yet Completed Series too.)

  
  
1. The Giver Quartet.

One of these days I will finish Son. I WILL. It just…. wasn’t very interesting to me. I still think The Giver is the best out of that whole series. But! Maybe Son improves. *skeptical squinty eyes*

  
2. Supervillain of the Day.

So far I’ve read the first three books, and loved them to death. Satire! Wit! Supervillains! Aliens! Unexpected feels! Best friends w/love-hate relationship! What more could you want? 

  
3. The Leviathan trilogy.

STEAMPUNK, MY FRIENDS. Ahem. I am currently knee-deep in the first book, and the story-line, characters, and setting make me so happy. The evolution-y aspect of it doesn’t thrill my soul (fabricated animals? Ick. And unrealistic) but I will definitely pick up Book Two when I’ve finished the first. Also, Alek is near and dear to my heart. My precious.

  

4. The Roman Britain Trilogy.

I did a read-along of The Eagle of the Ninth last month with Hanne-col and we both loved it with all the love. (Seriously, if you haven’t read it, get thee to a library!) Now I need to read The Silver Branch, but I keep on forgetting to put it on hold. SOMEONE HOLD ME ACCOUNTABLE.

  
5. The Lunar Chronicles.

Anyone else on pins and needles to read the last book in this series? I need it ASAP. I need more Cinder fighting-cyborg action, and adorable Thorne/Cress moments, and ACTUAL Jacin and Winter scenes. Also, Iko. I love Iko so much. And what happens to Scarlet, I ask you? *hyperventilating* November can not arrive soon enough. 

  
6. The Berinfell Prophecies.

I have all three of my sisters giving me grief about my lack of enthusiasm over this series. Patience, darlings. I’ll put Venom and Song on hold today. I WILL. 

  
7. The Eliots of Damerosehay.

The first book in this series was heartbreakingly beautiful. So much so that I’m scared to read the next book. My heart is a fragile organ, humans! o.o

  
8. The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place. 

Pleasepleasepleaseprettyplease, if you are in love with this series tell me so we can fangirl together! *bribes you with chocolate chips* And are you scared for the next book too? Because the last one BROKE me. Pardon me while I panic. 

  
9. Reckoners trilogy.

I have a love/hate relationship with this series. The sci-fi, and plot twists, and general supervillain writing epic-ness is fantastic, but David’s inability to filter his thoughts about women (Megan in particular) drives me batty. I didn’t even finish Firefight because of it. I think I’ll probably end up buying the book and just whiting out the inappropriate parts and swearing. 

  
10. Tales of Goldstone Wood.

This series is far from being finished (everybody dance a jig of joy!) but I still have to read Golden Daughter and Draven’s Light. And I am so excited. Particularly since the former stars a highly trained Top Secret girl-guardian. Just my style. ^_^ 

Have you read any of these books, fellow bookworms? Which of these series should I tackle ASAP? Which series NOT featured here do you recommend? 

25 thoughts on “Ten Series I Will (maybe) Finish Before The World Ends

  1. GOLDEN DAUGHTER. Read it now. I just finished it last month, and it was GORGEOUS. I don’t know how Stengl manages to keep putting out books that are just as amazing (if not more than) the previous ones…but she does. This one does not disappoint. I still need to read the two novellas, though: Goddess Tithe and Draven’s Light.

    Ooh, the Berinfell Prophecies! I read the conclusion earlier this year. Writing flaws aside, it’s a great series. πŸ™‚ Some of the concepts are just so deliciously fantasy.

    The rest of your list I either haven’t read or haven’t heard of before–oh, except for The Giver. I did read that. (And Gathering Blue.)

    This is getting long, but since you *did* ask for series recs… *eyebrow wiggle* No idea if it’s your style or not, but The Bright Empires series by Stephen Lawhead is superb. The premise allows for a mashup of genres, in a way, from fantasy to historical to kind-of-almost-sci-fi… Yeah. It’s great. And it all feels rather British, which is a plus! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. (long comments are my favoritest. *hugs you*)

      IT IS AT THE TIPPY TOP OF MY TBR. I actually might save it for October–don’t kill me! *ducks* Oh, you would love Goddess Tithe. Lionheart is in it. =D That was actually my first time reading Stengl’s writing (so beautiful!) and yes, she is one talented lady. Her ability to write novels that surpass all the ones that have gone before amazes me. It’s so refreshing to have a series where you don’t have to worry about the later books going downhill!

      Splendid! I’ll have to chat about them with you once I actually finish Venom and Song and the last book. O.o The Giver is the BEST.

      Oooo, I’ll have to look up that series then! I’ve heard Lawhead is a epic writer. Thank you, Tracey! ^_^ Any warnings content-wise?

      BRITISH THINGS CAPTURE MY SOUL.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, goodie–I love long comments too! And hugs. ^_^

        LOL, no ducking necessary . . . as long as you DO read it, I’m a happy Imp. Yay for Lionheart! I’ve missed him, so I really must get my hands on Goddess Tithe one of these days.

        VENOM AND SONG. It’s, ahhh . . . how should I put it? It’s feelsy. I won’t say more. *zips lips*
        Yeah, so far I liked The Giver most, but we shall see how the last books pan out for me.

        Yes, do!! It’s a wonderful series, and Lawhead most certainly is an epic writer. Can’t think of any content warnings, really. Unless the occasional use of “bloody” bothers you? There would be some violence, but I don’t recall it being graphic at all. And because the series spans so many time periods and cultures, readers do encounter some non-biblical beliefs and mythology, but Lawhead does a good job portraying those beliefs as just that (not the truth). The main (good) characters all believe in God. But I’d say the series is quite clean! πŸ˜€
        HOORAY FOR SOUL-CAPTURING BRITISH THINGS. The chapter titles all begin with “In Which…” XD

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I had no idea The Giver was part of a series. I’ve been planning on reading that book, so now I’ll know what to read after I finish!

    I haven’t read The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place either, but it sounds darling. I’m going to have to check that out too. Thanks for the recommendations! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is indeed! Personally I think it works the best as a stand-alone novel, especially since the ending is left open in such a way that you keep on thinking about it. But then she goes and writes books that tie up all the threads neatly, but that also (I think) detract from how powerful the story of The Giver was. We’ll have to discuss the book once you’ve read it, m’dear! πŸ™‚

      Oh, goodness, I love those books so much. Such delightful, whimsical reads! “Darling” sums them up perfectly. I honestly haven’t the faintest idea what the genre is since there is a touch of fantasy/paranormal (there’s a curse basically). Oh! There is a seance in the third book if that bothers you. I skipped around it, and pretend it doesn’t exist. xD

      You’re welcome, Hanna!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Son is actually really good. I read it in one evening a couple days ago. I would certainly recommend finishing it, because the ends tie up so wonderfully and beautifully at the end. Although there were some questions still unanswered, but I thought it was fine.
    I’ll have to check out some other of these books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll have to try to finish it then! I ran into a part that left a bad taste in my mouth so I’m dithering….

      Yes, yes, you should. And then come and chat with me about them. ^_^ Especially Tales of Goldstone Wood.

      Like

    1. I concer! Honestly, if they don’t end up as classics one day then I’ll be in utter shock.

      Oh, Starflower. ^_^ That book is splendid.

      CLARE. You must read the rest! *nodnod* Dragonwitch and Shadow Hand especially are wonderful. And I fell head-over-heels for Veiled Rose (I read the series in order).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The series I’m reading most eagerly is Angela Thirkell’s Barsetshire books, written from the early 1930s onward. They’re loosely interconnected light comedy-of-manners novels set in a fictional English county – currently being reissued in small batches, so that’ll help me stretch them out for a while. πŸ™‚

    Of currently-running series, the ones I look forward to more from are J. Grace Pennington’s Firmament (3 books published so far) and Rachel Heffington’s Vivi & Farnham mysteries (just one out!). And I’ve been reading the Flavia de Luce mysteries very slowly, one book every once in a while. Anything that eccentric is better in small doses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes! I’ve seen those about in your Goodreads updates. They look like just my cup of tea. πŸ™‚ Good cozy autumn reads, perhaps? Are they available on-line, or just from the library?

      Elisabeth! I can not believe I forgot to mention those two series! I feel like such a terrible fan now. 0.0 Machiavellian was an extremely tense, thought-provoking read for me so it’ll probably be awhile before I’m ready for Book Four. But I need the next Vivi & Farnham. NEED it.

      I’m very curious about the Flavia de Luce mysteries…. would you recommend them, m’dear?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it probably depends on the reader’s taste. Flavia is a child-genius chemist who’s fascinated with poisons, and is basically delighted by anything morbid – they books are often quite humorous, but in a rather wry black-comedy fashion. The nice thing is that because she’s only eleven, any more mature elements in the mystery investigation are kind of seen through a child’s eyes and don’t get explicit (at least in the first three books). I reviewed them on Goodreads if you want a little more detail!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. First things first. Annie, my dear girl, get thee hence and put “The Silver Branch” on hold! Have you done so? Good. Now, where was I?

    I want to read “The Giver” someday. I’m not entirely sure about diving into an entire series, but I’ll probably decide on that after I’ve read the first book. I also want to read Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s Goldstone books. I just need to secure a copy of the first book. πŸ™‚

    I’m intrigued by “The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place” series. A picture of a page from one of the books you posted on Instagram a while back captured my attention. πŸ™‚

    I also want to find me some Elizabeth Goudge. I have heard many good things.

    I’m currently in search of book four of Brock and Bodie Thoene’s “Zion Chronicles” series. The first book was good and the second book had several changes that I had a little difficulty adjusting to (mainly, changing relationships), but book three seemed to find its pace again.

    Oh, I’m also trying hunt down the second book in the Flavia De Luce mystery series. I enjoyed the first book a good deal.

    Okay, getting back to “The Silver Branch” again… What do you think about reading that together for another read-along? You can message me on Twitter with your thoughts if you like.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. O.O Yes, ma’am.

      The Giver is a thought-provoking, gripping read one doesn’t forgot quickly. It left me stunned. However. *puts on pince nez* *assumes wise expression* I don’t recommend reading the rest of the series unless you are desperate for more. For one thing, they aren’t as well written and for the rest — see my comment to Hanna above. πŸ™‚
      GIRL. Stengl’s books are amazing. You will laugh and cry and wish you could write half so well. And I guarantee when you’ve finished you’ll be recommending them to every bookworm you know. ^_^

      Oooo, this makes me happy! The Incorrigible Children is such a charming, whimsical series. One disclaimer though: there is a curse (if that would bother you) and Book 3 has a seance scene. I just blithely skipped over it. πŸ™‚

      Elizabeth Goudge’s writing is beautiful. Almost too beautiful to read in large doses. Rather like rich cake.
      I’ve never heard of the Zion Chronicles! What genre are they?

      I really want to read the Flavia de Luce mysteries. You should ask Elisabeth Grace Foley where she tracked hers down. πŸ™‚

      This idea. I like it. O.O Will be messaging you on Twitter! ❀

      Like

      1. The Zion Chronicles is a historical fiction series that takes place after WWII, when Israel left British rule and thousands of Jews from Europe were trying to find a homeland there.

        Yeah, from the sounds of it, I have a feeling I’ll only be reading “The Giver”.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. This post was so much fun to read, Annie darling! For a thing, I am so glad you liked “The Eagle of the Ninth’ and as Hanne-col has said get you go and borrow “The Silver Branch” and after that “The Lantern Bearers”! All the books I’ve read for her so far have been so good, if not a little heart-breaking. But she writes in such a beautiful, understated glory! πŸ™‚

    I am so stoked and pleased you’ve finally dug into the Tales of Goldstone Wood series, m’dear <3. Hurrah! It's probably my all time favourite modern fantasy series of ever!! I think you will REALLY love Golden Daughter – it is so rich and epic and heartbreaking *sniffs* and it has a lot of the themes, plots and character-stuff that you'll just love!! "Draven's Light" is another excellent novella – I loved it so much. But it makes me so sad that though the series is yet far from over we have yet to wait a long while before Anne Elisabeth Stengl releases another Goldstone novel! Did you read her update on that? πŸ˜› But she's been writing all these wonderful novels in quick succession for several years now, I can rightly believe she both needs and deserves a little break from it :P.

    I've not read "The Bird in the Tree" by Elizabeth Goudge yet, but I really loved “The Scent of Water” and “The Little White Horse” by her, so that’s a series I’d love to read more of from her (in fact, I’m quite hooked to read anything by her now!)

    I’ve just started Cinder by the way ^_^. . . it’s all modern sci-fi stuff so far, but the writing is captivating and all the cyborg stuff reminds me of your novella, “I am Juliette” :D. The covers of this series are drop-dead gorgeous though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Joy dear! ❀

      Oh, yes, The Eagle of the Ninth was beautiful! We must discuss it sometime soon. ^_^ Welll. *guilty look* I actually have a very unexpected, dreadful library fine so I can't get out The Silver Branch yet. Which makes me very sad. HOWEVER. I will be getting out both books as soon as possible! I agree, her writing is gorgeous in such a simple, vivid sort of way.

      My love of Stengl's books knows no bounds now! And you were a strong influence in my deciding to read them, dear girl. πŸ™‚ YES. Her books are my favorite fantasy series now; the only reason they don't exceed Narnia in my opinion is because I loved those books with all the love when I was wee. I'm planing on reading Golden Daughter this fall — so excited! I can't wait to discuss it with you, my fellow Imp! And Draven's Light; I need to read that one too. πŸ™‚

      I did read the update! I'm so glad we'll still get Poison Crown. O.O But I think it's a good thing she's taking a break because like you said she both needs and deserves it, and also with that time off to re-charge she'll have new inspirations and the series has that much more potential to stay strong going and not go downhill at all. ^_^

      The Bird in the Tree is wonderful! I think you'd love it, Joy. It's hard to read at times and the characters have frustrating moments, but it is SO good. I love Goudge's writing, but it is a little like rich cake to me: I can't have too much at once.

      YOU STARTED CINDER. O.O *flails* I'll text and ask your thoughts, mkay? Captivating is the perfect word to describe Meyer's writing! And yes, I love the cover styles. ^_^ I'll let you know a few disclaimers for Scarlet and Cress since there is lots more violence and sensual parts to be skimmed over in those two. *nods*

      Like

  7. LUNAR CHRONICLES. I NEED IT.

    I also should read the third Berinfell book. I didn’t know there was going to be any more!!!

    And I love, love, love Levithan trilogy. It’s beautiful & fun. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I SHARE THIS NEED MOST STRONGLY.

      Yes! Actually, my sisters told me they ended the last book of the trilogy in such a way that there is potential for yet another book. O.O

      Ackpeth, I am LOVING Leviathan!! We must discuss, yes? πŸ˜€

      Like

  8. Oh my goodness! All of these books look/sound amazing! I now need to find them…

    I love the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place! It is such a great series, but it’s also very crazy. There are so many twists and turns that starts to make you question everything you’ve ever known from the series. But it’s great nonetheless.

    Is the Lunar Chronicles good? When I saw the cover, I was instantly hooked. The cover looks so enchanting and mystical, but with that slight modern twist.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes. Yes, you do. =D

      Oh, you have read the Incorrigible Children?! *tacklehugs you* THIS DELIGHTS ME. I love that series so much. The humor! The whimsy! The charries! And the twists and turns too. They constantly keep you guessing. ^_^

      They are! I would recommend them with disclaimers. Mainly some sensuality and graphic violence.

      That is a perfect description of the covers! ❀

      Like

  9. Mmkay, so I have SUCH mixed feelings on the Giver quartet – on one hand, the title book holds an incredibly special place in my heart, but on the other, I think you’re right in saying that they sort of decrease in quality as the series goes on. The thing is, all of the books focus on similar characters, so I feel a little obliged to keep reading just to see if there’s a cameo of one of my favourite characters… which, now that I think of it, is probably quite a good authorly strategy. I see what you did there, Lois Lowry. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Basically your feelings on the Giver quartet are my feelings on the Giver quartet. And I too, wanted to keep on reading just to catch the cameos! Those clever, conniving authors. πŸ˜‰

      I do still wish they had left it at The Giver. But! At least, I can give my friends a fair warning and if they choose to read on? So be it. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

