In which I answer my Party tag + Emily’s blog launch tag

  

Well, today is an exciting day! I get to answer two taggy things, not just my own Curious Wren questions. 
My lovely friend Emily just launched her blog, The Hero Singer, exactly a week ago. She’s a charming girl, and I did Camp NaNo with her in July which was heaps of fun. Make sure you drop by her bloggy home, and say “Hi!” I know she’d be delighted. 

Alrighty, time for tag fun. *gleeful grin*

The Hero Singer party questionlings:

1. Coffee or tea?

Coffee and tea! I like drinking my coffee black, or with honey and hot milk — café au lait, to be precise. Peppermint and citrus teas are my favorite. Chai tea is amazing too. 

2. Rainy days or sunny days?

I am a pluviophile all the way. There’s something so deliciously cozy and inspiring about a good, misty, dim rainfall or a crashing thunderstorm. 

3. What is one food you couldn’t live without?

I am going to be completely unoriginal and truthful and say, pizza. Also, chocolate. And taco salad.

4. Give three words that describe you.

Lively. Loquacious. Imaginative. 

5. What would you do if you had a free hour and could do anything you wanted to?

Anything at all? I think I would either go for a long four-wheeler ride again, or a flight in a small plane. I miss both very much. Or a long, long walk by myself in a woods. 

Oh! CLIFF JUMPING. Someday I will do that. 

6. What is your favorite book-to-movie adaption?

I have so many I don’t know how I could choose just one, so I’ll go with two instead. 

-The Lord of the Rings extended edition is brilliantly done (I could go on about it for multiple paragraphs, but I won’t). It captures the essence and epic story so well, the characters are splendid, and the changes are few enough that they don’t irk me too much. Plus, the score is amazing — if you haven’t heard it before, go listen to it ASAP.

-BBC Bleak House. In a word, perfection. 

7. If there was one location from a book you could go to, where would it be?

I’ll skip the obvious answer (Middle-earth) and say the worlds of Goldstone Wood (Tales of Goldstone Wood). That would be pretty incredible, methinks. And I would love to drop into the world of steampunk and smog and winding streets in my current WIP. It would be majorly helpful. O.o 

8. If you could meet one character from a book, who would it be?

Definition of torture? This is it. 

These are by no means conclusive, but I’d love to spend an entire day with Jane from Jane of Lantern Hill. I think we would get along well. And as for the guys? Having a chat with Mir from Monster would be amazing and eye-opening, and I know I’d be in tears (I cried just reading the book, for goodness sakes).

9. If you could ask one author of the past a question, who would it be? What would you ask?

I want to know just exactly how Elizabeth Gaskell planned on ending Wives and Daughters. Can you imagine reading a few really sweet scenes between Molly and You Know Who? *fangirls*

 10. If you could change one event you didn’t like in a book, what would it be?

A certain woman dies in Bleak House. I wish I could give her a happily-ever-after.

  

Curious Wren party questionlings:

1. What was the last book you read, and would you recommend it?

The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer. I loved the humor, the wit and the characters, but I’d be leery of recommending it. Lots of swearing basically, and there’s an undercurrent of rebellion that’s throwing me of. Still sorting my thoughts, actually. 

2. Describe the perfect reading spot.

A window seat piled with comfy cushions sounds amazing. Preferably with either rain or snow falling outside, and hot chocolate on hand. But I think there would be something magical about curling up in a huge armchair in a room stuffed with books. The soft glow of reading lamps, a hushed atmosphere… the thought-ambiance makes my heart sing. 

3. Favorite book beverage? Tea? Coffee? Hot chocolate? Tears of your readers?

As much as I enjoy tea and cold coffee, for reading I would choose hot chocolate. It’s such a cozy drink and always gives me colly-wobbles of happiness.

Readers’ tears are saved for special occasions. I keep them in a Certain Flask in a Certain Cupboard of my old, old home. 

4. Share favorite quotes from four books.

(I know I said four quotes, but this is my tag. I AM ALLOWED TO CHEAT. *maniacal laughter*)

“It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.” — Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities”

~~~

“There, peeping among the cloud-wrack above a dark tower high up in the mountains, Sam saw a white star twinkle for a while. The beauty of it smote his heart, as he looked up out of the forsaken land, and hope returned to him. For like a shaft, clear and cold, the thought pierced him that in the end the Shadow was only a small and passing thing: there was light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.” — J.R.R. Tolkien, Return of the King

~~~

“It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end… because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing… this shadow. Even darkness must pass.” — J.R.R. Tolkien, The Two Towers

~~~

“Good Morning!” said Bilbo, and he meant it. The sun was shining, and the grass was very green. But Gandalf looked at him from under long bushy eyebrows that stuck out further than the brim of his shady hat.

“What do you mean?” he said. “Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?”

“All of them at once,” said Bilbo. “And a very fine morning for a pipe of tobacco out of doors, into the bargain. […] “Good morning!” he said at last. “We don’t want any adventures here, thank you! You might try over The Hill or across The Water.” By this he meant that the conversation was at an end.

“What a lot of things you do use Good morning for!” said Gandalf. “Now you mean that you want to get rid of me, and that it won’t be good till I move off.” — J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit

~~~

“This won’t do, my Jane. You must know the stars. Not that I blame you for not being well acquainted with them. Humanity in its great lighted cities is shut out from the stars. And even the country folk are too used to them to realize their wonder. Emerson says something somewhere about how marvelous a spectacle we should deem them if we saw them only once in a thousand years.”

So, with dad’s field-glasses, they went star hunting on moonless nights and Jane became learned in lore of far-off suns.

 “What star shall we visit to-night, Janelet? Antares…Fomalhaut…Sirius?”

Jane loved it. It was so wonderful to sit out on the hills with dad in the dark and the beautiful aloneness while the great worlds swung above them in their appointed courses. Polaris, Arcturus, Vega, Capella, Altair… she knew them all. She knew where to look for Cassiopeia enthroned on her jewelled chair, for the Milk Dipper upside down in the clear south-west, for the great Eagle flying endlessly across the Milky Way, for the golden sickle that reaped some harvest of heaven.” — L.M. Montgomery, Jane of Lantern Hill

~~~

“And what will they do to you when you have told them this story?’ 

Esca said very simply, ‘They will kill me.’ 

‘I am sorry, but I do not think much of that plan.’ Marcus said.” — Rosemary Sutcliff, The Eagle of the Ninth

~~~

“It was what her mother had always been. A place to put down her heart. A resting stop to recover her breath. A set of stars and maps.” — Katharine Rundell, Rooftoppers

~~~

“Summer, and he watches his children’s heart break. Autumn again and Boo’s children needed him. Atticus was right. One time he said you never really know a man until you stand in his shoes and walk around in them. Just standing on the Radley porch was enough.” — Harper Lee, To Kill A Mockingbird

5. What is your most loved fantasy read? Dystopia? Contemporary? Sci-fi? Classic?

-probably most everybody knows how much I love The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, so I’ll leave that out and say Shadow Hand (Tales of Goldstone Wood, #6) instead. It speaks to me in many ways.

-Monster (Mirriam Neil) probably doesn’t count as an actual dystopia, but I’ll pretend it does for the sake of the tag. (don’t tell on me!) This story is good, folks. Check it out, you won’t regret it.

-Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures. Magical, humorous, endearing, and surprisingly feels-destroying.

-Halo: Ghosts of Onyx. The science is stellar, the charries heart-gripping, the plot and action fantastic, and the ending makes me cry every. single. time. 

-I have too many favorite classics so I’ll list five that pop into my mind instead. Jane Eyre, Bleak House, The Horse and his Boy, An Old-fashioned Girl, and North and South.

6. List three authors you’ve collected the most books from.

I’m not currently at home, but running through my bookshelves in my mind, I’d say C.S. Lewis, Charles Dickens, and Anne Elisabeth Stengl.

7. What are your thoughts on magic in literature?

I like there to be clearly defined boundaries. For instance, if the magic is from a creator or inherent gifts, etc, I don’t mind that. But if it’s witchcrafty or from demons, I don’t want to read about it unless it’s a villain and there’s very little detail given. I won’t read a book with good wizards (no, Gandalf wasn’t a wizard, lovelies), or good witches, or with main charries using magic for dark purposes unless they realize their wrongdoing and change — character development and all that. Fairytale magic doesn’t usually bother me. 

8. What types of book covers capture your imagination most strongly? Feel free to include images.

Here are a few that thrill my sense of aesthetics. (Bear in mind that other than Golden Daughter, Cinder, and The Secret Garden I have no clue if these books are any good; I simply adore the covers.)

  
  
  
  
  
  
  

9. Mention the first book character that comes to mind. Elaborate on this.

For some bizarre reason it’s Chakkas from Halo: Primordium. His storyline is heartbreaking. From inquisitive young man, to trapped on a hellish, dying Halo, to insanity, to life as an automated guardian monitor of sorts who forgets he was even human except on rare occasions. And he loses his best friend, peoples! *sobs* I would never recommend Primordium because it’s evolutionary and depressing and bleak, but the ENDING. Anyone have a tissue?

10. Do you lend out your books? Or is that the equivalent to giving away your babies?

I like people to love the books I love,  so if the person in particular is someone I know will take good care of it, and I can badger them if they’ve had it for months then I’d lend the book out. Not any antique copies though. Not the precious, old books. 

Tomorrow morning I will be announcing the winner of the giveaway!! Excitement much?

(all images via Pinterest)

6 thoughts on “In which I answer my Party tag + Emily’s blog launch tag

  1. Jane of Lantern Hill is my favorite L.M. Montgomery book EVER!!!!

    I can’t believe she was penning a sequel right before she died and never completed it!

    I’ve never read Cinder but I have some friends who love that whole series so I might be reading it sometime soon…

    You like 4 wheelers? I went over to a friends house when I was 10 and spent the night and we rode 4 wheelers all day long…,haven’t touched one since then but I want to–bad.

    They’re just so fun…

    Enjoying your blog !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love seeing your tag answers, Annie. I love your one about Bleak House; that death is definitely one I would undo too. It seems we share similar taste in reading spots! Our library has window seats in the upper level, and I have always wanted to stop there a while it is raining. And I really agree with all your thoughts on magic, especially that Gandalf is not a wizard! 😉 Lovely tag–it was so much fun to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved reading your thoughts. 🙂

    Those book covers. 😀 Same on A Thousand Pieces of You. Such a gorgeous cover. AND THAT LAST COVER.

    I have so much C. S. Lewis on my shelves. And I think I’ve actually read…all but one?

    –Amanda

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really like the cover for A Thousand Pieces of You, as well as the one for Shadow and Bone.

    I don’t think I could live without pizza either (or rain, but that doesn’t count as a food). Also mint chocolate chip ice cream–I think I would melt into a puddle of sadness if all the mint chocolate chip ice cream disappeared. But mainly I would die if all the coffee in the world were somehow destroyed. *shudders at the thought*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

